My Rite Aid trip for the week of 4/29-5/5

The last couple of weeks I have done my coupon shops on Friday or Saturday (mainly because I was waiting on coupons that I had ordered from eBay), but I have been having a hard time find the items from the ad that late in the week so this week I decided to go nice and early and shop today (Monday). However, it seems like I was still a little too late as some of the freebie deals were gone, but I am hoping they will be back in stock a little later this week…or I will try to get a rain check for them. Some of the deals I didn’t get (yet!) that you may want to look out for are the free Starbucks Refreshers up to a $2.39 value from the Pepsi Moments to Save insert from yesterday’s paper…I have four of these since I got four Sunday papers, but I can use them anywhere so I am not too worried about it. The also had Mike and Ike’s or Hot Tamales advertised this week for 2/$2, plus a $2 +up at checkout, making them free. I think I would have preferred them to be out of them but instead there was one lonely little box of Hot Tamales left…not much of a deal to have to pay full price for one vs. getting two for free! I also missed the Oreo packs. They are free this week if you have the April video values coupon for $1/2 (no longer available as they have already rolled over to the May Video Values (some good ones this month!). Also, I was looking to score the deals on the Schick hydro shave gels and Blink eye drops using the peelies found on some products, but my Rite Aid seems to have a peelie thief! There were only a few of each of these products on the shelf and all of them had the outline of the glue from the coupon. It’s really unfortunate that people feel that they need to shelf clear or take all of the peelies, but that’s just part of the game I supposed. Anyway, onto the deals!

First of all, I had the BEST cashier. I’ve only been at this for a couple of weeks but I’ve already gotten the eye rolls, coupon slams, and my favorite, one cashier telling the other to take me when I checked out because she wasn’t “about to deal with all the stupid coupons”…..while my fiance was still at the register grabbing gum (I had pulled over to an empty side aisle to get my transactions ready). Today however, my cashier was super friendly, took her time (I had waited until there was a lull and two people up there so there was another register available…SO much less pressure!) and she went over my receipt before letting me pay to make sure that every coupon and +up that I gave her rang up correctly and deducted from the balance, how awesome is that! In total I did four transactions, technically it was five I suppose because after the third transaction was rung up, but before I paid, the power went out and we had to redo the whole thing once it came back on. Here’s what they came out to be:

Transaction #1

Three Colgate 360 surround power toothbrushes

Regularly: $7.49 on sale for $6.99 with a $3.00 +up reward back on each. Additionally, there was a monthly $10 +up reward when you spend $20 on Colgate, Softsoap and a couple other brands (ends tomorrow, 5/1!)

I used (3) $2/1 Colgate power brush coupons from the 4/29 paper

$6.99- $2.00 coupon – $3.00 +up reward made each one $1.99, with an additional $10 +up for spending $20

Final: I paid $7.97 before tax and after using a $7 +up from last week, and I received: (3) $3 and (1) $10 +up reward, making this a $4 money maker before tax

 

Transaction #2

Four Colgate sensitive Pro Relief toothpaste

Regularly: $6.29 on sale for $4.99 with a $2.50 +up reward on each. The same Colgate $10 + up reward when you spend $20 also applied (there was a limit four monthly limit, which I had not used up)

I used (4) $1/1 Colgate toothpaste coupon from the 4/15 paper

$4.99 – $1.00 coupon – $2.50 +up reward made each one $1.49, with an additional $10 +up reward for spending $20

Eight tins of Sucrets Complete cough drops

Regular: $4.99 ea., on sale 2/$3 with a $1 +up on any two.

I used (8) $1.00/1 found here

$3.00/2 – (2) $1/1 coupons – $1 +up on any 2 = FREE (limit of four +up, thus why I got eight)

Final: I paid $.96 before tax after using the $19 +up from Transaction #1, I received (4) $2.50, (1) $10 [Colgate] and (4) $1 [Sucrets] +ups making this a $4 money maker before tax

 

Transaction #3

Four Centrum Pro Nutrients 50 ct.

Regularly: $12.99 on sale for $9.99 with a $3.00 +up reward on each.

I used (4) $5/1 Colgate toothpaste coupon from the 4/22 newspaper

$9.99 – $5.00 coupon – $3.00 +up reward made each one $1.99

Two Carmex chapsticks

Regular: $1.69 ea., on sale 2/$2 with a $1 +up on any two.

No coupons, but a pretty good deal for someone who goes through chap stick as quickly as I do!

$2.00/2 – $1 +up on any 2 = .50 ea

Two multi-packs of Dentyne Ice…I had planned on getting more but these were the last two 😦

Regular: $2.99 ea., on sale 2/$4 with a $1 +up on any two.

I used (2) $1/1 multi-pack coupon. Not sure which paper these had come from, I bought them on eBay last week for a moneymaker on single packs of Dentyne

$4.00/2 – (2) $1/1 coupons – $1 +up on any 2 = .50 for each three pack, about .17 cents a pack!

Two Dove chocolate bars (not shown in the picture below since it was 100 degrees today and they are currently recovering in the freezer)

Regular: $0.99 ea., on sale 2/$1

I used (1) $.50/2 coupons printed from here

$1.00/2 – $.50/1 coupons = .25 each

Final: I paid $.46 before tax after using the $24 +up from Transaction #2, received (4) $3 [Centrum], and (2) $1 [Dentyne, Carmex] +up rewards

 

Transaction #4

Two Tampax pearl 18 ct. (I actually messed up this deal and should have got the Tampax Radiant that were on sale for $3.99 with a $1 +up, but still an ok deal)

Regularly: $5.79 on sale for B1G1 50% off, so we’ll call em 4.34 a piece

I used (2) $1/1 coupons that were expiring today

$4.34 – $1.00 coupon made each one $3.34

Two boxes of Skinny Cow 6 pack snacks

Regular: $3.99 on sale for $2.99 with a $1 +up on each

I used (2) $1/1 coupons from the 4/29 newspaper

$2.99 – $1 coupon – $1 +up  = .99 per 6 pack

One bottle of Dawn dish soap (on a side note,I got the New Zealand Spring one and it smells sooooo good!)

Regular: $1.99 ea., on sale for $0.95

I used (1) $.25/1 coupon from the April P&G mailer that was expiring today

$0.95 – $0.25 coupon = .$0.70

Two Dove chocolate bars

Regular: $0.99 ea., on sale 2/$1

I used (1) $.50/2 coupons printed from here

$1.00/2 – $.50/1 coupons = .25 each

One Revlon PhotoReady mascara and one designer nail file

Mascara – Regular: $8.99 Nail File – Regular $2.45, $1.22 after Revlon B1G1 50% off sale, plus a $4 when you spend $10 +up reward

I used (1) $2/1 Any PhotoReady cosmetic manufacturers coupon found here, (1) $2/PhotoReady Mascara from the May Video Values and (1) $1/1 Revlon beauty tool catalina

$8.99- $2/1 manufacture coupon – $2/1 video values coupon = $4.99, plus $1.22 – $1/1 coupon = $0.22  Total for both products, $5.21 – $4 +up for spending $10 = only $1.21!

Final: I paid $3.07 before tax (should have been closer to zero with the proper Tampax deal) after using the $14 +up from Transaction #3, I received (2) $1 [Skinny Cow], and (1) $4 [Revlon] +up rewards

 

All in all my total out-of-pocket expense before tax, if you exclude the $7 roll over from last week, was  $19.46 with $6 remaining in +up rewards for next time, so $13.46!

Total of all merchandise with sales only, no coupons or +ups would have been $132.70

Total of all merchandise with no Wellness+ card (no one should EVER shop this way!) would have been $189.80

 

Here’s a picture of all the goodies (sans chocolate suffering from heat exhaustion and 1 already in use 360 spin toothbrush)

What did you score this week at Rite Aid? This is a great shopping week since this weeks paper had four inserts each, and a lot of the monthly deals are currently overlapping (such as the monthly spending rewards and the Video Values…April ones expire May 12th!) Leave a comment with your favorite deals for the week.

Leave a Reply

